Tourism : Dieng

Dieng Plateau

Dieng is an area that located between Banjarnegara regency and Wonosobo regency. Dieng famous with it’s tourism spot, Dieng Plateau. Dieng sits at 2000 meters above sea level, that made it a very cold area. Dieng has unique management system, especially for the tourism. Because it located between two regency, so Banjarnegara and Wonosobo alternately to manage Dieng Plateau. Dieng has several interesting tourism object, but here, I will explain three main objects.

Dieng Temple

Image

Dieng Temple is an Hindu temple that built around 750 CE. In the early of it’s construction, there are 400 temples, but now only 8 remains. The temples are small shrines built as monuments to the god-ancestors and dedicated to Shiva. The design of this temple is have a similarity to Indian temple, although it only a little. In the temple complex, there are several temple but only a few of it tha have relief. Arjuna Temple is the main temple. This temple was found by a British soldier, Van Kinsbergen in 1814. A few number of reliefs and inscriptions that reveal about the background of this temple makes it as one of the most mysterious temples in Asia.

Crater Sikidang (Kawah Sikidang)

Image

Dieng has several volcanic craters that are still active until now. One of the most interesting is Sikidang Crater, a heaven for sulfur miners which supposedly likes to jump and move. Sikidang crater is located at Dieng Kulon Village, Sub-district Batur, banjarnegara Regency. As far as the eye could see, there was just a barren stretch of land surrounded by hills with a smoky pond on the other side. It is said that the water and mud has a temperature of 98 degrees Celsius, and maybe even more. The steam on Crater Sikidang contain sulfur that is believed can smooth the skin and eliminate acne.

The Colorful Lake (Telaga Warna)

Image

Telaga warna is located Dieng wetan Village, Wonosobo Regency. It sits at 2000 meters above sea level. Despite it’s location, telaga Warna always crowded by the visitors. What makes this lake so interesting is it’s colorful lake with with natural forest around it. Reputedly, Telaga warna have several different color, but to enjoy it, we need a trick to enjoy the beauty of this lake.  At the back door, there is a trail uphill towards one of the hills that enclose the lake. This dirt road is very narrow, just enough to pass one person. The climb is not so steep, but slippery enough considering Dieng area frequently hit by rain. After a few hundred meters climbing, we reached the top of the hill which surrounded by the views that would make anyone spellbound. Down below, outspread a beautiful lake surrounded by thick forest with beautiful purple color of water on the edge, shaded in green in towards the middle, and pale green in the center of the lake. On the other side, a narrow meadow separated it from another lake called Telaga Pengilon or lake which reflected like a mirror. Further ahead, Mountain Prau and Mountain Pakuwaja rows in circle, formed as if to protect these two beautiful lakes from anyone who wants to damage it.

Written by Radityo Arif Gunadi

for Indonesian Studies

24 thoughts on “Tourism : Dieng

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here from a different page and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to finding
    out about your web page for a second time.

  2. This is a comment to the webmaster. Your website is missing out on at least 300 visitors per day. I came to this page via Google but it was difficult to find as you were not on the first page of search results. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your traffic to your website: http://voxseo.com/traffic/. I managed to get over 10,000 visitors per month using their services, you could also get lot more targeted visitors than you have now. Hope this helps🙂 Take care.

  3. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice at the same time as you amend your
    website, how can i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account helped me a applicable deal. I have been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided vibrant transparent concept

  4. Excellent article. Keep posting such kind of info
    on your page. Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You’ve performed a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and for my part
    suggest to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  5. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes
    it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.

    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Great
    work!

  6. Hello would you mind letting me know which web host you’re using? I’ve loaded your
    blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must say this
    blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a reasonable
    price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  7. I don’t know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering problems with your
    blog. It appears as though some of the written text on your posts are running off the
    screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me
    know if this is happening to them too? This may be a
    issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Cheers

  8. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be
    book-marking and checking back often!

  9. Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you
    share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would appreciate your work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

  10. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and
    now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Appreciate it!

  11. Whenn someonbe writes ann article he/she kkeeps the thoughgt
    off a user in his/her braon that how a usder cann be aware of it.
    Thus that’s why this paragraph iis outstdanding.
    Thanks!

  12. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have take note
    your stuff prior to annd you are just extremely great.
    I really like what youu have acquired right here, really liike
    whjat you’re stating and the way wherein you say it. You’re making it
    entertaining and you continue to care for to stay it wise.

    I cant wait to read much more frrom you. That is really a tremendous web site.

Leave a Reply

